Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Awards Season

Scott Darling: Masterton Trophy Nominee
Corey Crawford: Jennings Trophy Winner (shared)
Carey Price: Jennings Trophy Winner (shared)
Carey Price: Vézina Trophy Finalist
Carey Price: Hart Trophy Finalist
PK Subban: Norris Trophy Finalist

Scott Darling appears to be a favorite for the Masterton, however unlike the other awards where we know the top 3 but not the order, all 30 teams submitted a Masterton nominee for their team. In the past four years, Darling has become sober and worked his way from the SPHL to his hometown NHL team via the ECHL, the CHL (has since merged with the ECHL) and the AHL. Less than a season removed from the ECHL, he picked up 3 of the 4 required wins for the Blackhawks to advance to the second round of the NHL playoffs.

Corey Crawford and Carey Price shared the Jennings Trophy for goalie(s) with 25 or more games played for the team(s) allowing the fewest goals (the games played minimum is why Scott Darling, Antti Raanta and Dustin Tokarski do not share the trophy with their starters). This is Crawford's second, the previous shared with Ray Emery in 2013, Carey Price's first and the Habs first since Patrick Roy in 1991-92.

After a career season, including breaking Ken Dryden and Jacques Plante's franchise record for single season wins, Carey Price is considered the favorite for both the Vézina (best goaltender) and the Hart (regular season MVP).

PK Subban is not a conclusive Norris favorite, he and fellow Finalist Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators appear to be in discussions the most, however there is not a conclusive favorite this year.

If the Canadiens advance to the Stanley Cup Finals, Carey Price is considered a favorite for Conn Smythe (Playoff MVP), however as of this writing it is only the last day of the first round so that is still very up in the air.

No comments:

Post a Comment